The Basics of Car Insurance Minimums in Connecticut

All states impose minimum car insurance rules. That is, insurers in those states must provide coverage at least to such a point, while all drivers are expected to carry policies meeting these requirements.
Connecticut, a “fault” state when it comes to coverage, has its own rules and minimums. As you take out a policy, be sure to keep the following in mind.
Minimum Coverage
All Connecticut policies must include bodily injury (BI), property damage, and uninsured and under-insured motorists (UM) – not required in every state.
When you’re looking for a policy, an insurance carrier must meet these minimums:

  • $20,000 per person killed in an accident, or $40,000 per accident if more than one person is killed or injured.
  • $10,000 per accident for property damage.
  • $20,000 per person or $40,000 per accident if the other motorist is uninsured or under-insured.

Be aware that, with these minimums, your insurer will pay no more than these amounts when injuries or property damage occur from a crash. Vehicle repair costs aren’t included, unless your policy provides it.
As a result, most insured in Connecticut request more comprehensive coverage. The state average is:

  • $100,000 BI per person or $300,000 per accident.
  • $50,000 property damage limit.
  • $100,000 UM per person or $300,000 per accident.
  • $5,000 for medical expenses.
  • A $500 deductible for collisions

Because Connecticut is a “fault” state, the insurance company determines who pays when an accident occurs. In “no fault” states, on the other hand, the insurance company assumes all costs.
Being Insured
All motorists must provide proof of “financial responsibility” to the DMV. However, when a Connecticut driver goes without insurance or has a lapse in coverage, he or she has the chance to obtain a policy but will have to pay a $200 fine.
Not getting a policy meeting the state minimum can be disastrous. The state suspends the driver’s registration and forbids the driver from renewing or registering a vehicle. To lift this penalty, the driver must pay the fine listed above and show proof of sufficient insurance to the DMV.
If you’ve been hunting around for better-quality auto insurance, see what fits in your budget while meeting the state’s minimums with Ion Insurance. Speak with one of our agents today to explore your options.